About Kamensk-Uralsky

Kamensk-Uralsky

The city is located at the confluence of the rivers Kamenka and Iset, 100 kilometers of the city of Yekaterinburg in a beautiful picturesque place surrounded by natural splendors of forests and rocky shores. The town’s history began more than three hundred years ago, when by the order of Peter I iron was founded here. A century Kamensk plant was the main supplier for army guns and shots. Artillery guns, cast at the ironworks, gave the first salvos in the day of historical Plata battle, and many years later Каmensk guns participated in the Patriotic war of 1812. In honor of the iron warrior on the high bank of the Kamenka river the monument “Cannon” (”Pushka”) was installed, a copy of the first fam. Continuing the traditions of foundry production, the Bell plant, known to the whole world, produces more than half of all Russian bells. All, who interested, can visit the Bell plant and see where Russian bell sound borns . The architectural image of the city is unique. Constructions of Peter the Great’s times, «Malahovskiy ensemble» of the old part of the city 19-the beginning of 20 centuries harmoniously intertwined with later but not less interesting buildings of the second part of 20 century of the Ural engineers-builders. Orthodox churches complete the architectural ensemble of the city: Kamensk-Uralsky is called an open-air museum. The landmarks of the region is limestone rocks “The Stone Gates” and “The Seven Brothers”. The natural landscapes are a places of rest, objects of educational and scientific values; within a few hours here you can get acquainted with a variety of magma tic and sedimentary rocks. Geological rock outcrops are also located right in the centre of the city.

Kamensk-Uralsky today

This is the third in population and economic potential city of the Middle Ural with a developed infrastructure, European level shopping centers. Not every city of the Sverdlovsk region can boast of «star «hotels. There are just few “star” hotels in Kamensk and one of them is “Kamea”. Kamensk –Uralsky is a major industrial center with developed radio-electronics, metallurgical complex, machinery construction, light and food industry, transport and communication. 80.1 % of commercial products provide metallurgy and metalworking.

Recommended to see

Monument the Cannon — symbol of the city (sculptors Permyakov V.V., Bragin A.V.,Gorshkov F.D.,06.10.1967), was built in honor of the Kamensk masters of “the glory of Russian arms”.

Cathedral square

On the square and in the immediate proximity to it are the most architecturally interesting objects: ”Malakhov ensemble”, homestead of the Kamensk plant head, the buildings of the male and female schools, shop of the merchant Vorobiev, the estate owners and merchants, shops and houses of merchants.

Bells manufacture “Piatkov and Co”

The first bell was cast at plant in 1702 (kept in Shadrinsk museum). Joined –stock company “Piatkov and Co” was founded in 1991 and it is one of the largest bells manufacture in Russia and Europe.

City Museum of local lore named after Ivan Stiajkin

Kamensk-Uralsky museum of local lore was opened in May, 5 1924 by teacher of biology Ivan Y.Stiajkin. The Museum is located in the building of the former head office of the Kamensk plant. The building designed in 1825 is a unique architectural monument of federal significance.

Exhibitions:

The history of Kamensk in 17-19 centuries, The feat of the people’s (exhibition, dedicated to the 65-anniversary of the Great Victory),Furniture collection (19-20centures),Ancient Ural, Fauna of the Ural, The interior of a merchant’s shop and house a factory worker the end of the 19th-20th century, Stone rainbow.

Svyato-Troitsky Cathedral

Monument of cult architecture on the Cathedral square in the centre of «Old Kamensk». This is the first Kamensk Church in the name of the Three Hierarchs — Saint Basil the Great, Gregory the Theologian and John Chrysostom. Svyato-Troitsky Cathedral erected in 1806 . It rebuilt in 1830-1840 under the project of architect M. P.Malakhov in the classicism architectural style. It has rotunda shaped level of the bell tower and the great dome. The architecture of the Cathedral is an integral part of the of the building ensemble. It opens a magnificent view of the old and the modern part of the city from the bell tower.

Preobrazhenskaya Church Preobrazhensky nunnery

Women’s community existed on the left Bank of the river Kamenka in 1821,and in 1860, was converted in the monastery. In 1861, started the construction of Spaso- Preobrazhenskaya Church, consecrated in 1878. The Church was built ship shape, consists of a temple part, the Pentagon apse, refectory and a three-level bell tower, topped with a cupola. Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church is unusual for local cult buildings of its Baroque decor character.

Pokrovskaya Church

The temple as well as all Kamensk churches was built “ship’. Two-colour temple has a complex form of a metal roof, crowned with 5 small domes on octahedral drum. The Church was built in 1914(in the former village of Volkova) in memory of soldiers killed during the war with Napoleon. Next to the Church established the memorial, dedicated to the memory of those killed on the fronts of the Great Patriotic war. Next to the Church established the memorial, dedicated to the memory of those killed on the fronts of the great Patriotic war. At the memorial burns the eternal flame, a symbol of memory and the inseparable connection of generations.

Church of the Intercession of the Mother of God

The construction of the cemetery Church of the Intercession of the Mother of God was provided in the plan of building back in 1848. This plan was developed by M.P. Malakhov. In 1991 restoration work was began. The Church had regained 4 onion domes, crosses, the completion of the bell tower. The iconostasis, the walls and the vault of the Church re-painted Kamensk artist Rostislav I. Novitskii according to the canons of the Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra.

The Chapel Of Alexander Nevsky

Chapel in the name of the Holy Great Kniaz Alexander Nevsky. It was built in honor of 300 anniversary of the city of Kamensk-Uralsky. Situated on the southern side of the central square of the city. The author of the project A.V. Dolgov, architect, adviser of the Russian Academy of architecture and building Sciences, Professor of the Ural state architectural-art Academy. Consecrated by the Archbishop of Yekaterinburg and Verhoturie Vikenty July 14, 2001, with the participation of the Cathedral clergy of the southern Church district. In the chapel set the icon of the Holy Kniaz, which, according to some versions written by V.M. Vasnetsov and his disciples in Gus-Khrustalny to the city of the temple in 1899.

Railway bridge through the river Iset.

Built in 1939, the author of the project Rosnovsky V.A., 140 meters long arch bridge made of steel tubes, filled with concrete, an architectural monument of regional importance. The arch bridge is a unique for its time and applied technology used for the first time in bridge engineering.

The bridge through the river Kamenka.

Built in 1903.Arched brick bridge pillars lined the stone foundations decorated stepped cornice. It is a model of engineering constructions of that time, has art value.

Dam on river Kamenka

(1700-1701., reconstruction of 1955). Retaining wall of the old dam on the river Kamenka made of the rubble stone. From the monument of «Cannon» it opens a magnificent view to the dam and the architectural ensemble of the Old Kamensk.

Natural monuments:

The Stone Gates- Well known sight of Kamensk-Uralsky

A unique geomorphological and landscape object — karst bridge height up to 20 m, located in the rocks of the right Bank of the Iset, is a landmark of Kamensk-Uralsky. The karst doorway height of 10 meters, width up to 5 m on the bottom and 3 m in the upper part. Landscape and geomorphological natural monument is one of the seven similar formations in the world.

Seven brothers

The most picturesque limestone rocks are on the left Bank of the Iset. There are pine forest and rare rocky herbs included in the Red book of the Middle Ural Astra Alpine and Cloves coniferous. The limestone cliffs have many fossils — brachiopods, corals. It is landscape and geomorphological natural monument.

Mammoth cliff

Unique rock on the Iset river, very precisely reminiscent of the mammoth. Is a complex monument of nature, created to protect the original limestone cliffs, plots of pine forest over green grass rocks and populations of rare and endangered herbs. It is landscape and geomorphological natural monument.

Eagle owl cliff

Picturesque limestone cliffs on the right Bank of the river Iset. The height of the steep cliff is up to 30 metres. Growth rocky herbs, among which the Astra Alpine, are Minuartsija Krasheninnikov and Potentilla silky included in the Red Book of the Middle Urals. Cavities at the top of the cliff are the places for nesting gulls. It is landscape and geomorphological natural monument.

Howler (Revun) rapids

Rapids on the Iset river, 20 km above Kamensk-Uralsky length of about 300 meters. In this lovely place Iset breaks through the powerful rock band — andesite porphyrites, remaining from palaevolcano Becklenijevo 350 million years ago. Rapids is situated in the canyon of the rocks, which is a monument of nature, places of steep, reaching a height of 30 meters. Howler is unique to the Urals. Flowing river suddenly throws the rapids of the fifth category of complexity. Due to its uniqueness rapids Howler is very popular among water tourists.

Smolinskaya cave

It is located 20 km from the Kamensk-Uralsky, not far from the village Smolino and half a kilometer from the rapids Howler, downstream of the river Iset. Its length is 500 meters long. It belongs to the karst caves. Was opened in the mid-19th century, studied and described by our Ural regional ethnographer Olesov V.G. Olesov was the first who made a plan of tunnels and grottoes of the cave. The cave is interesting for speleologists of different levels of preparation, therefore, is very popular. The largest in Europe colony of bats winters in Smolensk cave.

Events.

In mid-July a Festival of bell ringing «Kamensk-Uralsky — bell capital» takes place in Kamensk-Uralsky. A Festival became traditional in the third largest city of Sverdlovsk area. The festival gathers the best bell ringers of Russia on the central square of the city near the chapel of Alexander Nevsky. For few hours guests of the festival can enjoy the magnificent sound of the Ural bells. The founder of the festival is Nikolai Pyatkov, whose bell plant «Pyatkov and Co» casts bells, known for their melody sound worldwide.

The Sidecars motocross World Championship. The European and Russian motosport Championship.

The enchanting sight of the speed and drive, the rumble and roar of the engines, passions. World Cup gathers up to 40 000 fans. Athletes from 150 countries come the championship. Motorcycle track «Yunost» in Kamensk-Uralsky (which is hosting the Championship) is one of the best sports facilities of this type in Russia and Europe. It was created artificially on the terrain according to the world standards. The length of the route is 1940 m and the width is 8-14 m.

Festival of bell ringing «Kamensk-Uralsky — bell capital».

In mid-July a Festival of bell ringing «Kamensk-Uralsky — bell capital» takes place in Kamensk-Uralsky. A Festival became traditional in the third largest city of Sverdlovsk area. The festival gathers the best bell ringers of Russia on the central square of the city near the chapel of Alexander Nevsky. For few hours guests of the festival can enjoy the magnificent sound of the Ural bells. The founder of the festival is Nikolai Pyatkov, whose bell plant «Pyatkov and Co» casts bells, known for their melody sound worldwide.